- Slides: 39
THE NEW JERSEY DRIVER LICENSE SYSTEM Chapter 1 p. 5 -26
1. A motorist who operates a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey must carry… • Valid Driver License • Valid Provisional License • Validated New Jersey Permit • Current Vehicle Registration • Proof of Valid Liability Auto Insurance P-6
2. A motorist with a validated New Jersey driver permit must be accompanied by: • An appropriate licensed driver P-6
3. A motorist who is a legal resident of New Jersey must be licensed in? P-6
4) A motorist who changes addresses must report this change to MVC within: • One week after moving P-6
5) A motorist who legally changes his/her name (marriage, divorce, adoption) must report the change to MVC within: • Two weeks P-6
6) A motorist with a valid out-ofstate license who moves to N. J. must apply for a N. J. license within: • 60 days or before your current license expires, whichever is sooner. P-6
7) Individuals who have never had a driver license must complete the: • MVC’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program, which introduces driving privileges in phases with a period of supervised driving before getting a basic driver license.
8) All applicants for a New Jersey driver license who are under 18 years of age must present: • Completed consent form signed by a parent or guardian.
9) GDL, special learner and examination permits are valid until all qualifications for a probationary license are met: • For two years, or whichever occurs first.
10) All applicants for a New Jersey driver license must provide a: • • • Full Name Current Address Social Security Number 6 Point of ID Verification Other documentation that verifies that their legal presence in the United States is authorized under federal law.
11) All examination permit and probationary drivers shall not operate a motor vehicle without displaying: • Two visible, reflective decals, which are provided by the Motor Vehicle Commission, on the license plates of the vehicle.
12) The DDL, along with the MVC’s 6 Point Identification requirement (see p. 11), helps to eliminate: http: //www. njmvc. gov/6 point http: //www. state. nj. us/mvc/Licenses/Document. Selector/index. htm • The prevalence of fraud and abuse. • DDL includes almost two dozen security features, including digital photographs and signature.
13) Motorist under 21 years of age are issued a. . . Distinctive vertical-format DDL or older under 21 P-5
14) Most DDL’s issued are valid for: • Four-years
15) Altering a drivers license or showing an altered driver license may result in: • Loss of motorist’s driving privilege • Fine of up to $1, 000 and/or • Up to six month’s imprisonment
16) In addition, getting a driver license illegally may result in a: • Fine of up to $200 to $500 and/or • Imprisonment of 30 to 90 days
17) If a motorist has a restriction on his/her license, it will appear on the license in coded form: • Restrictions are as follows: 1 Corrective Lenses Required 2 Prosthetic Device 3 Mechanical Device 4 Hearing Impaired 5 Attached Restrictions (This category applies to special modifications to an applicant’s vehicle or limited driver privileges for a medical condition. The card detailing the attached restrictions must remain with the driver license. )
18) What are the eight types of New Jersey licenses and class: 1. Basic Automobile License — Class D 2. Provisional Automobile License — Class D 3. Commercial Driver License — Classes A, B, C 4. Motorcycle License — Class E 5. Provisional Motorcycle License - Class E 6. Moped License 7. Agricultural License 8. Boat License
19) All applicants must provide identity through a prescribed combination of documents that includes: • • • At least one primary document At least one secondary document At least six points of ID Proof of address Social Security Number P-11
20) A non-citizen must submit: Proof of continued legal presence in the United States. The MVC may accept other documents proving identity, date of birth and continued legal presence. Documents must be provided in English. P-11
21) All documents must be _____ or _____ in English and have the required state and /or municipal seals: • Original • Certified Copy
In 2001, New Jersey sought to enhance driver preparation and safety by implementing a multi-stage driver licensing system. 22) Known as the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program, the system gradually introduces: • • • driving privileges to first-time drivers extends their practice driving time requires a minimum age of 18 in order to receive an unrestricted, basic driver license. GDL restrictions placed upon first-time drivers must be strictly adhered to. Failure to do so may result in a fine of $100 or a possible suspension of a motorist’s driving privilege. (N. J. S. A. 39: 3 -10 and 39: 3 -13 through 39: 13. 8): P-16
23. Failure to adhere to GDL restrictions placed upon first-time drivers may result in a: • Fine of $100 • Or a possible suspension of a motorist’s driving privilege • (N. J. S. A. 39: 3 -10 and 39: 3 -13 through 39: 13. 8)
24) The “Early Bird Road” Graduated Driver License Program has five steps, list them: Turn to page 17
25) Special Learners Permit Driving Restrictions include: • No driving between 11: 01 p. m. and 5: 00 a. m. • No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other • • electronic devices. Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years’ driving experience. Passengers are limited to any parent, guardian or dependent of the special permit holder and one additional passenger. Permit holder and all passengers must wear seat belts. Must display decals on license plates.
26) All GDL drivers under age 21, who possess a permit or probationary license, are required to display: two visible, red reflective decals, distributed through the MVC on any vehicle that they operate. 27) One decal is to be displayed on the: top left corner of the rear license plate and the other on the top left corner of the front license plate. 28) The two, removable, decals are provided to a driver at the: time a permit is issued for a fee of $4. Additional decals are available for $4 per pair at any MVC agency. (39: 3 -13 and 39: 3 -13. 4 f)
29) Exemptions to the hours rule for permit and provisional drivers under 21 years: • Proof of a need to drive during the prohibited hours • • for employment and/or religion. For an exemption, the motorist must carry a legible certification to indicate this need from his/her employer or religious official on the official letterhead of the business, organization or religious institution, with the signature of the certifying official and his/her name, title, address and phone number. (N. J. A. C. 39: 21 -8. 18)
30) If the student driver commits a traffic offense, responsibility will be with both the: Student and instructor or adult supervising driver.
31) All motorist who possess a probationary driver license, whose probationary licensing period is not extended by the MVC beyond the standard 12 months, must… • Visit an MVC agency to upgrade to a basic driver license after the end of those 12 months
32) Motorist who fail to do so will remain subject to the. . . • Probationary driver license restrictions and could be cited by law enforcement for violating the restrictions
33) The applicant for a Special Learner permit must have the. . . • Signed consent of his/her parent or guardian, must be enrolled in a behind-the-wheel instruction in a dual-controlled vehicle.
34) The instructor must purchase the permit, which is valid for: • TWO YEARS
35) An individual, 14 years of age or older, who does not possess a valid driver license may apply for a: • Non-driver identification card
ORGAN DONATION • http: //www. njsharingnetwork. org/get-thefacts 4: 57
NEXT-OF-KIN REGISTRY (SARA’S LAW) • • Governor Christie Signs “Sara’s Law” Creating Emergency Contact Information Registry New Jersey is the 7 th State to Implement Next-of-Kin Notification Measure • Trenton, NJ – On Wednesday, April 6, 2011, Governor Christie signed Sara’s Law, establishing a next-of-kin registry that provides law enforcement officials with immediate access to contact information in the event a family member is involved or injured in a motor vehicle accident. The bill is named for Sara Dubinin of Sayreville who fell into a coma and died as a result of a 2007 car accident. It took nearly two hours for her parents to be notified of the incident. “As the father of four children, I know first-hand that it is a parent’s natural instinct to protect their child from harm and to be with that child in their time of need, ” said Governor Christie. ”My heart goes out to the Dubinins for their terrible loss. By signing Sara’s Law, we are putting a commonsense process in place to ensure a family facing the terrible difficultly of a child in harm or danger is not further strained through notification that is delayed or too late. ” New Jersey joins a growing trend of states implementing similar notification measures. Six other states use next-of-kin registries. They are Florida, Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Colorado and Delaware. Under the new program, the holder of any New Jersey driver’s license or non-driver identification card has the opportunity to voluntarily submit the name and telephone number of two emergency contact persons to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). If the licensee is involved in an accident resulting in serious injury, death, or incapacitation, law enforcement personnel would be able to utilize the program to notify the licensee’s emergency contacts. To expand the number of teenagers eligible to participate in the next-of-kin program, the measure lowers the age at which a non-driver identification card can be obtained from 17 to 14. Certain safeguards have been put in place to protect against unauthorized or improper access. For instance, any information submitted to the MVC will only be accessible by certain MVC employees and law enforcement personnel. Additionally, emergency contact information will not be subject to public disclosure under the “Open Public Records Act” and information is not discoverable as a public record, except upon a subpoena issued by a grand jury or a court order in a criminal matter. There will also be a delayed effective date of 18 months in order for the MVC to program their computers to process the new information made available by the bill. Sponsors of Sara’s Law include Senator Joseph F. Vitale (D-Middlesex), Assemblymen John S. Wisniewski (D-Middlesex), Craig J. Coughlin (DMiddlesex) and Vincent Prieto (D-Hudson)
36) A special driver license for deaf or hearing-impaired motorists (41 d. B loss or more) is provided by the: • MVC
37) There are three classes of a commercial license. List all three! • Class A • Class B • Class C
38) Most Commercial drivers will need to obtain at least one special endorsement. List all five! • T Double and Triple Trailer • P Passenger • S School Bus • N Tanker Vehicle • H Hazardous Materials